mondays require motivation. part 2.

There are a few things I’m working on.  The more I read books and listen to podcasts about health and nutrition, the more I find things I’d like to work on.  These are the things I have figured out that I need to do and since I was able to do these things, I know you can too.  You might just need a bit of motivation.  Let’s do this.

  • Move more.
  • Eat less.
  • Add good foods.
  • Cut out the crap.
  • Drink more water.

I covered move more here. That leads us to the dreaded EAT LESS.

Now I can just hear what some of you are thinking…”but I love food!” “It tastes so good!” “I like to eat!”  “Why do I want to eat less?”  If I could shake you. I would. But I can’t. So I won’t.

I will say that I totally understand. I have been there, done that for most of my life.
I should have shaken myself 6 months ago, but instead I decided to change after hearing a podcast about the 8 Hour Abs Diet (I hate the word diet and wish it wasn’t used here but it is.  just ignore that word and carry on with me.)
I changed when I was allowed to eat. Yep, I said allowed. Because that’s really the simplest way to think of it.

Kind of like not eating before bed but a bit more deliberate.  Eating this way doesn’t require I keep track of my calories or journal my food intake (though that can be INCREDIBLY helpful for folks). It does require that I pay attention to the clock.

I eat in a 10 hour window.  10 hours from first bite to last bite every 24 hours.
No matter the day or holiday, I eat all my food for the day in 10 hours.

I typically eat my breakfast at 9 a.m.
One Shakeology meal replacement shake and nothing but water and coffee before that.
No nibbles of cereal. Nothing.

After my breakfast of Shakeology, I eat a lunch and a snack or two.
Then dinner with the family about 6 p.m.
Here comes the fun part:
I am DONE eating at 7 p.m. at the latest. 9 a.m. to 7 pm.=10 hours.

I eat good food.  I eat normal quantities. No overindulging because I know I won’t be eating all night.
I drink lots of water after dinner/before bed because sometimes I think I am hungry but really, I am just thirsty. Really.     And sometimes I might be truly hungry because I didn’t eat enough during the previous 10 hours.  That’s okay.   My body can just burn through those fat stores. Please. And thank you.
The first 2 weeks were the roughest. It took some getting used to, there is no doubt.  But now, it’s just how I roll.

So what are my results of eating less?

  • I buy less food which means I’m saving money.
  • My stomach is now flatter than it has ever been. EVER. no pooch, no flab, no nothing.
    Is that worth not eating after dinner? Hell yes it is. I can put on any jeans I own and nothing hangs over the button. That is pretty awesome in my book.
  • I have extra energy to get stuff done because my body is not wasting energy digesting food all. day. long.
  • Lastly, I truly don’t battle with myself over having a late night snack. Ever. There is no late night snack.

If we are going out or have a party that will mean eating later, then I adjust my morning start time. Last week I knew I’d be eating later in the evening so I had my first meal at 11 a.m.  It worked out perfectly since my last bite of food was at 9 p.m.
This way of eating, sometimes called intermittent fasting, isn’t hard. It isn’t a cinch. It just is.
Because I feel so much better when I eat this way.

I guarantee you’ll see results.  The more I learn about intermittent fasting, the more I want to do.  It’s not about being skinny.  It’s about being healthy.  My body is at it’s best when I’m not eating all day long.  It needs the break from constant digesting and cuing hormones.  Give your body a break from eating and you give it a chance to help you feel your best. Optimal health for the best version of you.  I truly believe that everything we feel is tied to our nutrition.  Disorders, diseases, depressions, skin conditions, you name it–it can be fixed by feeding your body properly.  It’s no secret how to do it.  Feed yourself good food.  Just enough.  Move your body.  Just enough.  

This is the “diet” that inspired my plan. http://www.eighthourabsdiet.com/   I modified it for me because I wasn’t ready to go 8 hours.  That’s my next step.  The author explains the why behind this way of eating. You can read it or you can just go for it.

Eat in an 8 to 10 hour window.  Good food.  Reasonable portions.  Then stop.  And let your body do its thing.


3 thoughts on “mondays require motivation. part 2.

Leave a Reply

