kissing in church.

This sounds scandalous, doesn’t it?
Stick with me.

Each Sunday there comes the time in our worship service that we are invited to “pass the peace” of Christ and greet one another.
Guess who is the first person I greet?  Yep. You got it. The person sitting right next to me.

My husband.

We turn to each other first thing and kiss.  In church.
Shocking, right?  It’s important to us and it’s fun.  So we do it.
Today, I noticed 4 other couples near us do the exact same thing.

Had we inspired other couples?
I hadn’t noticed them doing it before…
Maybe we did.  Maybe we didn’t.
Doesn’t matter either way, it was fun to see.

And then to realize that there is so much power in our actions.

Suggestion by action.

We are constantly suggesting things to others by the clothes we wear (this brand is the bomb!),
the food we eat (Shakeology is great!), or
insert any action here.

I exercise for me and that action tells others that my health is important.
I eat real food because it’s good for me and that tells others that I want to give my body the best.
I am kinda strict with my kids and that tells others that I want them to be good, well behaved, happy kids.
I am a total neat freak and that tells others that I like to take care of my home and my stuff.

I don’t always eat good food and that tells others I’m normal-ish.
I get mad and frustrated and that tells others that I have natural reactions to crap.
I don’t always enjoy my workouts and that tells others that I struggle too.

I yell at my kids and that tells others that I am not always good at this parenting thing.
I sometimes work too much and that tells others that my priorities might be out of whack.
I get upset when my plan or routine gets out of whack and that tells others that I’m not the easiest person to live with.

Think about your actions.
What do they say to others?

What do you want them to say?
That’s a good place to start.
What suggestions do we want to make by our actions?

Leave a Reply

