a cabbage recipe for those who hate cabbage.

I like cabbage as coleslaw and that’s about it.

love roasted vegetables so when I saw a recipe for roasting cabbage I decided this might just be good.

The original recipe has a dressing you toss on the roasted cabbage….well,
I don’t have time for that and really wanted to just try the cabbage roasted.
Plain. Roasted.

I often get asked about the recipe so rather than sharing the recipe I kinda-sorta followed, I decided to post my recipe here so you can give it a go the exact way I do.

And you can follow this recipe for really ANY vegetable. Brussels sprouts are my kids’ favorite, carrots are tasty, sweet potatoes are fab…you get the idea. Pick a vegetable and follow this recipe.

Roasted Cabbage
adapted from Cooking Light
2 1/4 pounds green cabbage, core removed and cut into 1-inch cubes
1 cup vertically sliced yellow onion
1 tablespoon canola oil
1 teaspoon sugar
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt

Preparation

1. Preheat oven to 450°. (yep, get it hot!)

2. Combine cabbage, onion, oil, sugar, black pepper, and salt in a large bowl; toss to coat. (It’s OK if the cubes start to separate.)

3. Divide cabbage mixture between 2 foil-lined jelly-roll pans. Bake at 450° for 20 minutes, stirring and rotating pans after 10 minutes.

What’s next?  Eat it. Share it. Make it again.

Leave a Reply

