Cincinnati chili.

My husband loves Cincinnati chili. Skyline is his preferred.
We live in Bloomington.  There is no Skyline here except in a can at the grocery.
And you know how I feel about “food” in cans.
So I try to replicate it about 10 times a year.

I have made some good ones but I think this one is the closest I have come.
I am sharing it here so that it never gets lost.
This recipe made it to my home via my husband who brought home the IndyStar section that covered ice wines.
Somehow, the same section of the paper also had this recipe.
Coincidence? I think not.

This is the key–you must make it ahead of time.  One day. Two days.
Make it ahead.
I made it on Saturday.
I let it chill.
Skimmed the solid fat off the top.
Chilled it some more.
Reheated it for dinner on Monday.

I made noodles and shredded some cheese.  The family likes it that way.
Me? I had mine over a baked sweet potato.  HOLY YUM.

11001804_10204878455935443_4123756565240371772_n

All credit goes to Sarah Croft at the IndyStar: http://www.indystar.com/story/life/food/2015/01/22/solid-gold-eats-chili-cincinnati-spin/22178037/

Cincinnati Chili

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 yellow onions, diced

5 cloves of garlic, minced

2 pounds ground beef

2 tablespoons + 2 teaspoons chili powder

2 tablespoons Dutch processed cocoa powder

2 teaspoons cinnamon

2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

2 teaspoons dried oregano

1 teaspoon ground coriander

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg

¼ teaspoon ground allspice

¼ teaspoon ground cloves

¼ teaspoon salt

1 15-ounce can tomato sauce

2 cups beef broth

1. In a large dutch oven, heat olive oil over medium high heat. Add the diced onion and cook for 3 minutes or until onions are soft. Add the garlic and cook for 1 minute more.

2. Brown the ground beef, breaking it up with a spoon. Once browned, drain grease and return beef to the pot.

3. Add the rest of the ingredients and stir. Let the chili come to a boil, then cover and simmer for at least two hours. Remove from heat, let cool slightly, and refrigerate overnight.

4. When you’re ready to eat the next day, bring a large pot of water to a boil and cook some spaghetti per package directions. Plate the spaghetti and spoon the chili on top. Add shredded cheese and diced onions to serve.

Leave a Reply

