get it done.

21X_Wk1_Day7_image

I really wanted to title this “get shit done” but I didn’t want to offend anyone with the title.
Instead I’m going to say “get shit done” about 12 times in this blog.
That shouldn’t offend anyone since it’s not the title.
There.  I feel better.

But really, this post is about getting shit done.  Anything, all things, whatever needs to be done.
I used to say that companies should hire me as their “get shit done” gal.
That list of things that just aren’t getting done?  Give it to me.  I’ll get it done.
Just how I roll.
A list of to do’s are the fuel to my flame.

Saturdays are my “get shit done” days.
There is no homeschooling to do which means I can tackle my growing list of chores.

On a farm, in spring, there is always something to do.
Today I scrubbed the outside of the windows on our house.
Then cleaned up our humble basement where I throw all our recycles.
Then I fixed the chicken fence.
Then I moved the goats electric netting fence to allow them fresh places to graze.
Then I hauled branches on the tractor.
Then I took the forks off the tractor, put on the bucket and hauled rocks from our garden area.
Then I started laundry and later hung it on the clothesline.
Then I ripped out the wet and rotting trim (and drywall) from our mudroom.
Then I hauled some trash and stacked firewood.
Then I used the air compressor to clean my vacuum.
Then I vacuumed.

I got shit done.
And it totally rocks.

And I have always been that way.
I remember Saturdays always being work days when we were kids.
Sundays were our rest day.
Saturdays were our work days.

As I was working today I was thinking about how so much in our life can be changed by whether or not we just get it done.
Get. It. Done.  Get it done.

If you want a new job, you gotta get it done.
If you want your house to look good, then you have to get it done.
If you want to move to a new town, then you have to get it done.
If you want to lose weight, then you gotta get it done.
If you want to feel your best, then you have to get it done.

Nothing will just happen just because you want it to.
I often hear from folks when I’m helping them with their nutrition and fitness that they get really motivated then it just dies out.
They start out getting it done.  Every day.  Motivated and pumped up.
After some period of time, they lose that mojo.
I get it.  I really do.

But part of me doesn’t understand it.
How can one lose mojo for something that is so freaking important?

How can you just say “oh well, I just don’t feel like taking care of myself today and I’ll just eat some crap, not exercise and feel bad instead.”
What the what?!
I don’t understand.

I know that sometimes I don’t want to work out or I’d like to have a french fry but I never get to that point where I just say, “Screw it. I’m tired of feeling great. I’ll just go back to my old way of living and be miserable.”
Is that from my “get shit done” attitude?
Maybe. Probably.
But I think it’s more than that.

I think it’s that I know the difference between how I felt before and how I feel now.
I don’t ever want to feel that way again.

So I will continue to get good sleep, eat real food, drink water and move my body.
I will continue to have Shakeology every day.
I will continue to work hard on taking care of myself.
Because it matters.

So when you get to the point where you just don’t want to do the things that need to get done, remember this–
it needs to get done.
Every day is a Saturday with a short list–eat good food, move your body, get good sleep, drink water and be happy.

And only you can do it.  So go on. Get it done.

images (23)

2 thoughts on “get it done.

Leave a Reply

