is busy really bad?

Untitled image (10)
I spend a lot of time doing things all the time.
Say that out loud.  Really. Say it.
That’s my definition of busy.

I recently came to this conclusion:
That busy is a blessing.
Yep, I know. It’s not hip right now to be busy.

We are supposed to follow this “essentialism” idea of saying no to everything except the essentials,
so that we have more time to relax and play and live life.
I get that. I really, really do.
So much so that I was feeling guilty for hustling like all get out, all the freakin’ time.
I was really struggling with this when I heard a podcast about essentialism.

Kind of ironic that while listening to all the reasons why I should be less busy,
I decided that I like busy and busy is just fine, thankyouverymuch.

This is a list of the things I am (in no particular order):
I am an entrepreneur.
I am a mom.
I am a wife.
I am the care taker of our goats and chickens.
I am a daughter, sister and friend.
I am a PiYO instructor.
I am a neighbor to an elderly lady that needs me.
I am a homeschooler. To two kids.
I attend church regularly and teach Sunday school.
I cook. I clean. I do laundry. I work my tail off.
I exercise daily.
I take one kid to baseball and the other to horse lessons.

Sure, there is some busy stuff that I would love to cut out.
Washing dishes, scrubbing toilets, trimming goat hooves…
But that’s essential stuff so it can’t be eliminated.
But the rest of my day is filled with stuff that I want to do.

I don’t always enjoy homeschooling my kids.  But I want to do it.
I don’t always like cooking dinner every night.  But I want to do it.
I don’t need to enroll Jack in baseball and drive him to/from there a few times a week. But I want to do it.
I didn’t need to start a business.  But I really wanted to do it.

Since I started my business last July there is little downtime.
Hardly any TV watching
No more fiction novels before bed because there is personal development to read.
No relaxing evenings out with friends on a regular basis.
Limited play time with the kids. (okay, fine. very little play time.)
You get the idea.

I hear little voices (and real life, loud voices) telling me that someday I might regret all the time I have put into my business.
I hear them say “You shouldn’t work so hard.”
And to those people I say, “where is your freakin’ passion?”
Actually, I shout it:  WHERE IS YOUR PASSION? THE FUEL FOR THE FIRE OF YOUR LIFE!?

Holy snotrockets, folks.
My passion for my business of helping others get healthy takes over my thoughts during the day and my dreams at night.
As does my excitement for the products.
And my drive to help my coaches succeed and change their own lives as well as those they help.
I am so freakin’ fired up that it doesn’t matter what those voices tell me.
I know I am living my passion and purpose and those things I might be missing out on or might regret in the future?
Well, I know that I won’t regret any of it.
I know it.
Because my busy is full of my choices.
This is how I truly live life–not by resting and relaxing.
But by doing.

Do you have that kind of passion in your life?

I truly feel there are seasons of our lives that will be more or less busy.
I know for a fact that I am in a VERY busy season.
You saw that list up there–I got shit to do and I’m going to do it.
Someday, my kids will be bigger and can do more of the stuff I do every day, and my season of life will be less busy then.
But for now, I am in a busy season because I choose it.

Your life might be FULL (can we use “full” in place of “busy”, already?) and that is good.
As long as it makes you happy.
If you love those things that are keeping you busy then you just keep on, keepin’ on.
Do your thing.
Hustle.
Be busy.
Be awesome.
Be okay with it.
And when you tell someone you are busy, then say it with joy and passion!
Not like it’s a burden you haul around everyday of your life.

And if you have too much on your plate and are miserable, then some reevaluating is probably a good thing.
Cut some of the “fluff” from your life and find your happiness.
Say “no” to more stuff.
Do what makes you happy.
Not everything we do is essential, remember that.

And if you aren’t busy, then that is fine too.
Enjoy it.
Relish it.
And if you find yourself wanting a more full life then find that passion inside of you!
Because busy can mean happy.

Untitled image (13)
Leave a Reply

