Maple Granola.

20150308_155500

So if you follow me on Facebook, you know that we make our own maple syrup.
It is a TON of work but so darn good that we just can’t help ourselves.
So every year we haul sap and cook it down into syrup.
Every. Single. Year.

It takes 40 gallons of sap to make one gallon of maple syrup.
And since I was taught as a young child that it is a treasured item, we don’t waste it.
When I make pancakes, we use enough to cover it because it takes a lot of work to make that syrup!
Don’t waste it! (I think I heard THAT once or twice in my childhood.)
(and yes, I lick my plate clean when there is maple syrup on it.)

So how do I use up all the syrup if I’m not allowing everyone to pour it all over their pancakes all the time?
I make this granola.
My family loves it and it makes my house smell good.
Plus it’s easy to make. Really. It is.
The hardest part is measuring everything out and if you use a scale, it’s way, way easy.

20150312_180620

Vermont Maple Granola

modified from King Arthur Flour’s cookbook, Whole Grain Baking

Time: 2 hours 15 minutes (mostly inactive)

Yield: A bunch of granola (about 16 cups)

Notes:  Please, please, please use a big bowl set on a scale to make this recipe.  I use a big plastic bowl that has a lid. I measure all my ingredients to the bowl, put the lid on and shake it.  Then spread it on the pans and bake it.  So very easy that way.  Feel free to mix things up–don’t like coconut? Leave it out or swap in some extra seeds or nuts.  Hate raisins? Don’t add them!  I prefer olive oil, but you can use melted butter or coconut oil as well.  Stay away from vegetable oils!

Ingredients

7 cups (24 1/2 ounces) old-fashioned rolled oats
1 cup  (3 ounces) unsweetened coconut flakes
1 cup (4 ounces) wheat germ or chia seeds
1 cup (5 ounces) almonds, sliced or broken up
1 cup ( 3 3/4 ounces) pecans or walnuts, chopped or broken up
1 cup (5 ounces) sunflower seeds or pepitas, raw or toasted
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup olive oil
1 cup maple syrup
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 cup raisins or golden raisins
1 cup dried cranberries or dried cherries

Preparation

Preheat oven to 250 degrees.

In a large bowl, combine the oats, coconut, wheat germ or chia, nuts, seeds, and salt. Mix well. In a pint jar, combine the oil, maple syrup, and vanilla.  Screw the lid on tight and shake with all your might! (I love when things rhyme but I don’t mean them to…) Pour over dry mixture in bowl, stirring and tossing (clean hands work well) till everything is very well combined or snap on the lid for the bowl if it has one and shake that bowl!  Flip it over and shake it some more.

Prepare two large baking sheets by covering them in parchment paper (not necessary but makes clean up way easier). Spread granola evenly between the pans. Bake for 2 hours, stirring after 1 hour or so. Remove pans from oven and cool completely. Sprinkle on dried fruit and transfer to a container to store in you pantry.

Use it on top of yogurt or with milk or almond milk.  A little bowl will do you as it’s very filling!

1/2 cup serving=19 g of whole grains, 292 calories and a bunch of other stuff that is good for you. So eat it and don’t worry about how many carbs or grams of fat it has in it.  Eat a serving.  Enjoy it.  It’s good for you.

2 thoughts on “Maple Granola.

  1. […] –The unsweetened coconut is not your momma’s sweetened shreddles of coconut.  (don’t look up shreddles. it’s my own made up word.)  These are big flakes of coconut and are not sweetened.  They will be fine with sweetened coconut flakes but try to see if you can find the unsweetened big flakes. They rock.  I use them in my maple granola, too. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

