start Monday.

c5ff5c8c0510109b0bfa9a6d58f2af46
I am typically a happy person.
And for the past 10 months I have been on fire with happy.
I don’t mean that I walk around perpetually smiling, but that I feel happy in my core.
That everyday I feel joy.
About a month ago, I had a week that threw me for a loop.
Knocked me down and kept me down.
I was not happy.
There was no joy.
I was tired, frustrated and pissed.
And for the life of me, I couldn’t figure out why.
I still don’t know why as I sit here a month later scratching my head.
What I do know is that I needed that terrible, no good, very bad week.
Yep, I needed it.
I find that low times bring about perspective, but more than that, they bring about growth.
Let me explain.
I spent that whole week blowing off my 5 a.m. alarm.
I dreaded the stuff I needed to do each day that normally brought me joy.
My kids were beyond annoying.
My husband couldn’t seem to do anything the right way.
<sigh>
By the end of the week I was fed up. FED UP.
Furious and fuming at everyone including me.
Because I couldn’t figure out what the heck was going on with me.
I felt totally out of control.
But I knew one thing.  I had to change.
So on Friday of that terrible week, I made a decision.
I decided that the week had sucked and I was going to start the following Monday anew.
I gave myself permission to be miserable, not workout and to sleep in until Monday morning.
Then it was going to change.
And it did.
I woke up that Monday with a renewed sense of joy.
I got straight up at 5 a.m., did my workout and got some work done before starting the day with the kids.
I hit the ground running and am still going strong.
That growth I mentioned?
I found a new schedule that works so much better for my family.
Do I like changing the schedule? Nope.
But it sure has made things better.
So if you are struggling, let me encourage you.
Pick Monday.
Monday is your new start.
Make a plan!
Give yourself permission to do nothing different until that Monday.
Then when Monday arrives, you give it a big ole’ sloppy kiss and kick butt.
You got this.
Change.
Grow.
Be awesome.
Untitled image (42)
Leave a Reply

